Feature updates
New functions and larger changes, e.g. new navigation or app features.
Example:2026.26A Tesla is a car with a large software platform whose functions can change through updates. Over the air, Tesla can add capabilities, fix faults and tune existing systems without a service visit. This guide explains how OTA updates work, how to read version numbers, and why the vehicle software and FSD are two different things.
Evidence:PrimarySecondaryExpert review 2026-10-25
Many of a Tesla's functions are defined in software, so they can be changed by an update years after delivery.
A Tesla is more than an electric car. Its navigation, charging behaviour, infotainment, assistance systems and many vehicle controls run on a large software platform that Tesla changes through over-the-air (OTA) updates. An update can add capabilities, fix faults or tune existing systems without a service visit.
This is a significant advantage, but not a Tesla-only feature. Other manufacturers also update cars over the air. How far an update can go always depends on the vehicle's hardware: software cannot add a sensor, a faster processor or a heat pump that the car does not have.
The table below shows real changes from recent updates. Each example names the version and its source. Versions and features reached different cars at different times, and not every car received every feature.
| Area | Real change | Version | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Navigation | Estimated Toll Fees Route planning shows estimated tolls for each route, including EV discounts where available. Requires online routing. | 2026.14First observed 2026-04-15 |
|
| Charging | Set Arrival Energy A desired state of charge on arrival can be set for a trip from the Tesla app; the trip planner adjusts charging stops. | 2026.26First observed 2026-07-26 |
|
| Infotainment | Apple Music Apple Music became available in the car, with search and the user's own library of songs, albums and playlists. | 2026.32.7First observed 2026-09-23 |
|
| Safety | Recall Notice The update contains the remedy for an EU recall; once installed, no service visit is needed for that recall. | 2026.32.7First observed 2026-09-23 |
|
| Autopilot / FSD | FSD (Supervised) First European FSD (Supervised) build reported for Model 3 and Model Y with HW4, with a tutorial and quiz before activation. Only usable where nationally approved. | 2026.3.6First observed 2026-04-11 |
|
| Comfort | Automatic Seat Heater Timeout Seat heaters may switch off after 20 minutes to protect the heating elements; the driver can switch them back on. | 2026.32.7First observed 2026-09-23 |
|
| Performance and driving | Traction Control Modes New traction modes Auto, Slippery Surface and Stuck Assist; the mode resets to Auto at the start of each drive. A change to vehicle control, not to power output. | 2026.26First observed 2026-07-26 |
|
OTA means the car's software is updated wirelessly. Downloading and installing are two separate steps.
Under Controls → Software, Tesla's manual describes a preference: Advanced receives additional, earlier releases, Standard waits until others have installed and gets fewer releases. Advanced is not the early access programme and does not guarantee every version immediately. Tesla decides how, when and where each release goes. According to release-note reports, update 2026.14 turned this choice into a single on/off switch, so the label in your car may differ from the manual.
There is no fixed public schedule. Releases appear throughout the year, and each car receives only some of them.
The categories below are our editorial classification, not Tesla's. One update often belongs to several categories at once.
New functions and larger changes, e.g. new navigation or app features.
Example:2026.26Bug fixes, stability and optimisation, often as a further revision of an existing branch.
Example:2026.38.5.10Security fixes; Tesla usually lists them only as "Security Improvements" without details.
Example:2026.32.7Larger themed bundles such as the Summer, Halloween or Holiday Update.
Example:2026.38.5Changes to the FSD (Supervised) driver-assistance software, delivered inside a vehicle software release.
Example:2026.33.100A version such as 2026.32.7 names a software branch and a revision. It is not a date and does not list the changes.
Take 2026.32.7:
2026 is the year of the software branch.32 is the branch number, commonly read as a week of that year. It is not a month.7 is the revision or release within that branch.More examples: 2026.32 is the first release of a branch; 2026.32.3 and 2026.32.7 are later revisions of it. Versions such as 2026.33.100 or 2026.20.200.1 carry a high third segment and appear as parallel builds. In 2026, 2026.33.100 contained a European FSD build, but .100 does not automatically mean FSD. Four-segment versions such as 2026.38.5.10 or 2026.26.6.5 are further builds on top of an existing revision.
Tesla has not published complete numbering rules. You cannot reliably derive the release date or the list of changes from the number itself. Use the decoder below: it explains the structure of any valid number and shows release notes only for versions in our verified catalogue.
Enter a version or pick an example.
The vehicle software and FSD (Supervised) have separate version numbers. A newer car version does not mean newer FSD.
Tesla vehicle software ("Tesla OS") is the car's overall software release and user interface. A number such as 2026.33.100 identifies that release. "Tesla OS" is used here as a common name for the platform, not as Tesla's official name for every internal component.
FSD – Full Self-Driving (Supervised) is an advanced driver-assistance system with its own version, such as v14.2.2.6. In Europe, Tesla now calls it Tesla Assisted Driving. FSD is not a separate app you can install on its own; its software arrives inside a vehicle update, and whether it can be used depends on the car and other conditions.
| Vehicle software | FSD version | What it means |
|---|---|---|
2026.32.7 | Not verified | Release notes list no FSD build; the vehicle version alone does not tell us anything about FSD. |
2026.26.6.5 | v14.3.8 · HW4 · North America v14.1 Lite · HW3 · region not stated | North America, HW4: v14.3.8. HW3 Model 3/Y: v14.1 Lite. |
2026.33.100 | v14.2.2.6 · HW4 · Europe | Europe, HW4 Model 3/Y: v14.2.2.6. A higher vehicle number than 2026.26.6.5, yet an older FSD branch (14.2 vs 14.3). |
2026.38.5 | v14.3.12 · HW4 · region not stated v14.3 Lite · HW3 · region not stated | HW4: v14.3.12; HW3 Model 3/Y: v14.3 Lite. The source does not state the region, so these must not be read as European builds. |
The version number is only one of several factors. Country, hardware and activated features matter as much.
Example: two Model Y cars in Czechia both show the same software version. One is an AI4 car with FSD (Supervised) purchased, the other an older HW3 car. Only the AI4 car can use the European FSD build, and only where it is approved. Features that need Premium Connectivity, such as weather maps, appear only on the car with that subscription. Do not assume a feature from the model year alone; check the hardware under Controls → Software → Additional Vehicle Information.
Versions we checked against release notes. Unknown values stay unknown instead of being estimated.
| Version | First observed | FSD version | Release notes (selection) | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
2026.38.5.10 | 2026-10-20 | v14.3.13 · HW4 · region not stated v14.3 Lite · HW3 · region not stated | FSD (Supervised) v14.3.13 FSD Maintenance |
|
2026.38.5 | 2026-10-10 | v14.3.12 · HW4 · region not stated v14.3 Lite · HW3 · region not stated | Halloween Mode, Dynamic Headlight Leveling, Supercharger Site Maps, FSD (Supervised) v14.3.12 Feature Seasonal FSD Security |
|
2026.33.100 | 2026-10-01 | v14.2.2.6 · HW4 · Europe | FSD (Supervised), Recall Notice, Wheel Selection FSD Feature Security |
|
2026.32.7 | 2026-09-23 | Not verified | Apple Music, Recall Notice, Automatic Seat Heater Timeout, Security Improvements Feature Maintenance Security |
|
2026.26.6.5 | 2026-08-26 | v14.3.8 · HW4 · North America v14.1 Lite · HW3 · region not stated | FSD (Supervised) v14.3.8, FSD (Supervised) v14.1 Lite FSD Feature |
|
2026.26 | 2026-07-26 | Not verified | Summer Update, Set Arrival Energy, Traction Control Modes, Preferred Routes Feature Seasonal Security |
|
2026.20 | 2026-05-30 | Not verified | Dashcam Clip Encryption, Weather Maps, Parental Controls Feature Security |
|
2026.14 | 2026-04-15 | Not verified | Estimated Toll Fees, Automatic Software Updates, Supercharger Pricing Filter, Advanced Software Updates Feature Security |
|
2026.3.6 | 2026-04-11 | v14.2.2.5 · HW4 · Europe | FSD (Supervised), FSD Tutorial & Quiz FSD |
|
2026.2.9.10 | 2026-05-01 | v14.3.2 · HW4 · region not stated | FSD (Supervised) v14.3.2 FSD |
|
"First observed" is the date the release was first reported by the source, not an official Tesla release date, which Tesla does not publish. The catalogue is updated by hand and is not a live feed; rollout history and adoption statistics are not included yet.
Short answers to the questions new owners ask most.
No. Tesla decides which release goes to which car and when. You can only choose when to install an update that is ready, and set your update preference.
Releases roll out in stages and depend on region, hardware and update preference. Another car being updated first says nothing about a problem with yours.
Tesla often releases features in North America first. In Europe, some functions need regulatory approval or a separately validated build; RDW states that US and EU FSD software differ.
No. Tesla's manual states that reverting to a previous software version is not possible.
Yes, but charging pauses during installation and resumes automatically. The car cannot be driven until installation finishes.
No. The two are numbered separately. Only the release notes or a verified catalogue can link them, and then only for a given region and hardware.
Release notes and first-observed dates come from the secondary source Not a Tesla App ↗